Hand-Me-Downs, Hand-Me-Ups

When I was a college student at NYU living in Greenwich Village in the early ‘80s, from time to time I’d drop in at the indoor flea market down the street, going from stall to stall to garner some interesting item to spice up my wardrobe. Over the past few years, my closet has become a flea market. My younger daughter, in particular, has been raiding my closet with an interest in my “vintage” clothes from the 80s and 90s, which I’ve held on to. a) Because I’m a pack rat, especially with clothes I’m sentimental about and b) Because I’m a firm believer that everything eventually comes back in style.

While my daughters have benefited from a few choice hand-me-downs from me, as they’ve been growing up and growing out of their clothes, or as their clothing tastes have changed; they have been passing on “hand-me-ups” to me. Not only does this keep favorite clothing items in the fam, but it’s a way to reduce, reuse and recycle all at the same time! Interestingly, it’s had a dual effect on me where I feel both young and old at the same time. Young, because I’m wearing my daughters’ more “youthful” clothes; old, because of the fact that I have daughters old and big enough to pass on their clothes to me!

Leave a Reply

