The Great Depression

Last week marked the 82nd anniversary of the Stock Market Crash of 1929, which officially began The Great Depression. There are varying thoughts on whether what we are currently experiencing is a recession or a depression. With all the bad news in the news, I thought I would share an amusing depression story…

One of my best friends growing up was Alice Beck (Dubow), now a judge of the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas. I spent a great deal of time at her house. Her father, Dr. Aaron Beck, a psychiatrist acclaimed for being the creator of “cognitive therapy,” a type of psychotherapy, had his practice in the living room of their home. It was a beautiful room lined with built-in bookcases. I was a bibliophile, and so when he wasn’t seeing patients, I enjoyed perusing the titles in his collection. I remember going home and telling my mother that Alice’s father must be an expert on “The Depression” because he had so many books on the subject. It wasn’t until years later sitting in a psychology class that I realized just what kind of depression he had an expertise in!

If you’ll indulge me, here’s hoping this Depression doesn’t lead to a more serious depression!


One thought on “The Great Depression

  1. love the play on words… The Phantom Tollbooth was and is one of my favorite books and I just gave Amelia Bedelia to one of my great nieces, all of which have great plays on words… here is the great depression behind us in every way possible!

Leave a Reply

